Summer Camp Crafts

I’m volunteering for a summer camp next week, and have been asked to come up with three morning crafts and two for the afternoons. I’ve taught crafts at this camp before, though I couldn’t do it last year because I was in Syria. Our crafts last time I was there were:

Other past crafts projects have included a copper cross, bead crosses, a lotus book, and an accordion book. This year the crafts area is re-organizing a bit, so that every morning there will be three crafts projects going on at the same time: tie-dye, a three day icon project, and little crafts (run by me). I’m not sure how I feel about this, but when I’m being more accurate I remember that I never know how I feel about any art or craft project I teach nearly anywhere. First, some craft projects (I’m doing these over the course of three mornings):

1) Lanyard Cross

Or

2) Sled Kite

3) Pentecost Windsock
4) Some kind of bracelet

36 thoughts on “Summer Camp Crafts

  1. Hi! I’m also teaching crafts at a summer camp and was wondering if there were tutorials for the crosses?

    1. Sorry I didn’t reply sooner — it’s made from nails and wire, but mine weren’t as polished as the one in the picture, which has copper wire and a welded loop on top.

      1. I would like the instructions for the nail cross as well please. I would like to do it with children for easter.
        Shari
        Dunedin, New Zealand

      2. Hi Molly do have a tutorial to make the nail cross I want to make them and sell them profits going to the homeless night shelter ty Debi x

  2. I haven’t got a good answer for making the nail crosses. Because I had neither a budget nor a soldering iron, we just wrapped them in thin wire in criss-cross patterns and around the edges, into a loop, and back (not like the one in the picture, which does require soldering, and is only sold assembled). It wasn’t horrible, but wasn’t sophisticated, either.

    I think this is a good solution http://stormdrane.blogspot.com/2013/07/paracord-and-horseshoe-nail-cross.html, (especially wrapped in tight wire http://disciplecrossusa.com/yahoo_site_admin/assets/images/copper_cross_with_horseshoe_nails.211115348_std.JPG), if you’re able to bend the nails, or have teens who could bend them.

  3. Your best bet would probably be to solder the nails together and use the wire for decoration more than anything else (could use string for a more rustic look). Galvanised ring nails should be a good choice. At a guess I would think they have used 1 x 4″ (100mm) and 2 x 2″ (50mm) nails.

    Hope this helps someone

  4. can you send me instructions for the NAIL CROSS please. my church is having a craft fund raiser in September to raise $$ for new church….would love to make these. thankyou VERONICA

  5. I would love to have direction of nail cross and what kind of nails done use because l used on Polish nails and tried to soldier them together and didn’t work.

  6. Bet you didn’t think the “nail cross” would hit so many people sensitivity did you?! I’m not a Christian and it just jumped out at me for the juxtaposition of the Christian crucifix. I have 2 friends that will receive this for Christmas. One on a leather thong (think about the 39 lashes) and a much bigger one in a shadow box for wall display. Thank you for your inspiration.

Leave a comment