Just Checking In

It’s my birthday; I’m 25 today. I’m not sure how I feel about that yet. I haven’t written lately not only because I’m fickle (though that’s also the case), but also because I’ve had a cold and other cold-like symptoms (like staying up all night thinking about how my sinuses hurt when I breath). Some of the other Gorites are going to Kutaisi for the weekend, but I’d just as well not — generally spending the weekend out does nothing good for said cold-like symptoms.

I went to Mtskheta for their feast day last Friday. Then I came back and tried to write about it a couple of times. I don’t know whether what I had written was actually bad, but it never ended up saying anything that was worth reading. The church was very crowded, there were a lot of bishops and some politicians there, and then we had a five hour lunch, until the sun went down, and I came home. It was about as near a medieval experience as I want to have. No, I’m not sure whether I can elaborate on that. Saturday I spent in trying to feel better, and Sunday I went to Nikozi and met a nice young woman from Tbilisi who speaks English.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have textbooks now, and CDs — everything except the teacher’s book — so that should be nice. I had the 11th grade students read two short poems by Langston Hughes today:

What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?

Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?

And:

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

My co-teacher liked the second one better, because it’s more obvious and lyrical than the first, and the comparisons are easier. Perhaps next week I’ll ask them to look at Emily Dickonson’s poem about hope.

7 thoughts on “Just Checking In

  1. Happy belated birthday, Molly. I hope you are over your cold symptoms, it’s not quite fair to have those on a birthday. (Actually, I guess fairness has nothing to do with it. But it still doesn’t seem fair.)
    I agree with your co-teacher, I like the 2nd poem best too, and for the same reasons.
    I don’t know Dickinson’s hope poem, I’ll have to look it up. But one of my favorites of hers is on success:
    “Success is counted sweetest
    By those who ne’er succeed.
    To comprehend a nectar
    Requires sorest need.

    “Not one of all the purple host
    Who took the flag to-day
    Can tell the definition,
    So clear, of victory,

    “As he, defeated, dying,
    On whose forbidden ear
    The distant strains of triumph
    Break, agonized and clear.”

  2. Hi Molly! Happy belated birthday! I found you through my dear friend, Kim Sullivan, and I’ll be a regular now. Thanks for the Langston Hughes poetry–what an incredible author!

    Blessings to you and yours.

    –Steve

Leave a Reply

