Church camping trip

This weekend I got to go on an overnight outing with the folks from Holy Trinity to Storrie Lake, which is about an hour up the freeway toward Colorado. It was quite fun, though by no means deep or life altering. Therefore, I don’t have too much to write about. Possibly I take advantage of these situations: I got a ride up, borrowed a sleeping bag, borrowed a tent, borrowed a camping spot, and ate other people’s food. I’m going to have to make an effort to be extra nice to clueless young people when I “grow up.”

Storrie Lake

Storrie Lake

Don’t judge it by this picture. For about five hours Friday evening it was magnificently beautiful, with a glowing double rainbow fading in and out of the clouds and a delightful mix of storm clouds, streaky golden light, a moist breeze with the scent of an unidentified aromatic weed, and smatters of rain.

Fr. John fishing

Fr. John fishing

The countryside around the lake is of the grassy, softly rolling hills variety

The countryside around the lake is of the grassy, softly rolling hills variety

Also, I spent much of my time reading a book that just arrived Friday – The Gurus, the Young Man, and Elder Paisios – more on that later.

One thought on “Church camping trip

  1. lovely sunset indeed. I “took advantage” of “clueless young people” also when I was your age: but mostly I did appreciate what they did–probably not enough though. Anybody catch any decent fish?

Leave a Reply

