Local Holidays

The Irish in America have been wildly successful at propagandizing St. Patrick’s day here in America. That’s not a bad thing – it’s nice to see green popping up everywhere in the middle of March. But imagine what we would think if suddenly schools started celebrating Saint George of England, or Saint Saraphim of Serov. When I start *my* school (even if it’s a home school) there are going to be dragons and knights plastered on every wall come the twenty-third of April, and I shall have a red rose in my button hole.

It’s pretty funny to see shamrocks, leprechauns, pots of gold, and so on in the halls of a Yupik elementary school. Which  made me think – not for the first time – how peculiar it is that the school here never celebrates any local holidays. I would expect there to be some. Mexican-American schools celebrate Day of the Dead and Cinco De Mayo; probably others as well. So why don’t we have an Alaskan holiday to celebrate? Or a Yupik holiday? Or even a Russian holiday? Personally I’m going to lobby for Crossing the Ice Bridge to the Americas Day.

__________________________________________________________

If you want to know why this is here, read the comments.

4 thoughts on “Local Holidays

  1. Some people have a Tradition of getting Equinox Presents as part of the Equinox Day Holiday. Maybe you could continue the Tradition in Tuluksak (Brighten the Corner, where You are, so to speak).

      • your own Papa, as in the Eddie Fisher song of the fifties “Oh, Mein Papa”–since you’re so good on the computer, you should listen to it so you have the proper attitude towards meOH, MY PA-PA
        Eddie Fisher

        Oh, my pa-pa, to me he was so wonderful
        Oh, my pa-pa, to me he was so good
        No one could be, so gentle and so lovable
        Oh, my pa-pa, he always understood.

        Gone are the days when he could take me on his knee
        And with a smile he’d change my tears to laughter

        Oh, my pa-pa, so funny, so adorable
        Always the clown so funny in his way
        Oh, my pa-pa, to me he was so wonderful
        Deep in my heart I miss him so today.

Leave a Reply

