Aniak

Halfbreeds logo (from the court floor)

Halfbreeds logo (from the court floor)

I did end up going to Aniak with the girls’ basketball team, and gave up my spotless record of never having watched a full basketball game in my life (I was on the bench with the girls, so it couldn’t be helped). The girls took every opportunity to make fun of me for my profound ignorance of basketball. They (the lady Wolverines) are quite decent, and won 49-18, then 41-18. Aniak is about 45 minutes upriver; I didn’t get to see much of it, but it seems to have about the same number of kids, or fewer, and a good deal more infrastructure, including a largish lighted landing strip with a building attached, flat roads, and a very decent store. We stayed two nights, so after a second game yesterday morning there wasn’t much to do. We went back to the store, watched movies, and the girls shot hoops and called people while I painted little sketches. On the whole it was quite fun.

The Wolverines playing ball

The Wolverines playing ball

Mural in the gym

Mural in the gym

Tuluksak from the air

Tuluksak from the air

2 thoughts on “Aniak

  1. Hi Molly,
    I am working on a story about unique school mascot names in America and came across your pictures from Aniak High School in Alaska. May I use your photos of the Halfbreeds logo and the mural from the gym for one of my stories? I will give a photo credit. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

