Comfort Books

Chocolate ice cream would be nice. Or a mocha frappuccino with whipped cream on top. Or a nice Jane Austen movie. But I don’t have any of hose at the moment. So I’ve been reading comfort books. In this particular case, I spent the day reading The Everlasting Man by G K Chesterton on my computer. It’s not the same as reading it in a book, which is unfortunate. With a real book, for instance, I wouldn’t have to sit next to the power outlet half the time. But, still, it’s sufficient. And still a delightfully entertaining read. Some of what he says seems a little odd; I think because it doesn’t go with the flavour of post modernity, with our slightly neurotic sensitivities. But, still, delightful.

Leave a Reply

