Summer Camp Crafts

I’m volunteering for a summer camp next week, and have been asked to come up with three morning crafts and two for the afternoons. I’ve taught crafts at this camp before, though I couldn’t do it last year because I was in Syria. Our crafts last time I was there were:

Other past crafts projects have included a copper cross, bead crosses, a lotus book, and an accordion book. This year the crafts area is re-organizing a bit, so that every morning there will be three crafts projects going on at the same time: tie-dye, a three day icon project, and little crafts (run by me). I’m not sure how I feel about this, but when I’m being more accurate I remember that I never know how I feel about any art or craft project I teach nearly anywhere. First, some craft projects (I’m doing these over the course of three mornings):

1) Lanyard Cross

Or

2) Sled Kite

3) Pentecost Windsock
4) Some kind of bracelet

This entry was published on June 2, 2011 at 10:40 am and is filed under Art. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Summer Camp Crafts

  1. I really really love this cross. Is it for sale?

  2. Josie on said:

    Hi! I’m also teaching crafts at a summer camp and was wondering if there were tutorials for the crosses?

  3. Kari Behlmer on said:

    What did you use to make the 2nd lanyard cross – the one with the nails?

    • Sorry I didn’t reply sooner — it’s made from nails and wire, but mine weren’t as polished as the one in the picture, which has copper wire and a welded loop on top.

  4. Kaylee on said:

    what is the chain you used? what type of wire would work best??

  5. Rholbeck40@yahoo.com on said:

    Could I have directions for making metal cross?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

